Connect with us

Elections 2020

Mauree Turner to Become First Non-Binary State Legislator



Mauree Turner won their race for the Oklahoma state House and became the first openly non-binary person ever elected to a state legislature in the United States. Currently there are just four out genderqueer or non-binary-identified elected officials serving in the entire country. There are currently just five openly LGBTQ elected officials serving in all Oklahoma.

Annise Parker, President & CEO for LGBTQ Victory Fund, released the following statement about the victory:

“Of all the states to achieve a milestone political moment for non-binary people, few would have thought it would be Oklahoma, where there are so few LGBTQ elected officials. But Mauree ran a tireless campaign focused on the issues that matter to their district while also being authentic and open about who they are. Mauree is now a trailblazer for non-binary people and their courage to run openly will inspire more non-binary people to pursue careers in elected office.”

A historic number of genderqueer and non-binary people ran for office in 2020, according to Victory Fund’s Out on the Trail report. Seventeen ran for office in 2020 compared to just four in 2018 – a 325 percent increase.

Victory Fund works to achieve LGBTQ equality by recruiting, training and supporting openly LGBTQ candidates for public office around the country, giving our community a powerful voice in government.

Continue Reading


october 2021